Meet our Staff – Sarah Crim

sarah

Name: Sarah Crim

Title: Academic Advisor

Hometown: Nashville, TN but been in Auburn for 15 years

How long have you been with the Honors College? It will be a year in November.

Briefly, what do you do for the Honors College?

I have the opportunity to get to know our Honors students through academic advising and hopefully help them achieve their goals in the Honors College.

I also have been able to help start a new organization for the Honors College that focuses on service called Honors Serves. There has been an unbelievable outpouring of students interested in engaging in service activities in our local community. Our students are helping local high-school students prepare for college and beyond through peer mentoring and ACT/SAT prep courses. I am in awe of the time and effort that our Honors students are giving to this cause simply from the outpouring of their hearts.

We are also beginning a new partnership with a group from West Alabama called Horseshoe Farms. This opportunity allows Honors students to tutor elementary and middle-school aged students living in Greensboro, AL via Skype. It is such a unique collaboration where a need on the other side of Alabama can be met through Honors students here through the use of technology.

 If you are interested in learning more about either of these opportunities to serve, please contact me. I would love to talk to you more about both programs!

 What’s your favorite class or event offered by the Honor College?

I have lots! As an Honors Student, my favorite class was Organismal Biology with Dr. Folkerts, it was amazing! My favorite Honors course now is Freshman Exploration because I get to teach some incredible students and learn more about campus resources. Finally, I really enjoyed serving along with our students this summer during our k(NO)w poverty week of service, it was truly the highlight of my time here.

 Do you have office hours for students?

Yes, we are here 7:45-11:45 and then 12:45-4:45 Monday thru Friday.

 What’s your favorite Auburn memory?

Whew, I cannot name just one. Auburn holds lots of memories for me both from my days as a student to the times that I have worked here. This is the place where I received my education, met my husband, and raised my children. Now, it is where I get to work and hopefully give back to the campus and the community.

 In your opinion, what’s the best thing about Auburn Honors?

The students of course! They inspire me daily with their knowledge and passion.

 What’s the best advice you can give to an Honors Student?

There is grace for each day, do not worry about tomorrow and live each day to its fullest.

 Do you have any hobbies, and if so name a few!

Most of my free time is spend with my family, either out at the ball field or at home. I am training for my very first full marathon, so if you are ever out around 5:00am, you may see me running around town.

 What is the best way to contact you?

 Email, or just stop by if you are in the Quad area, we always love to see you!

Leave a Reply

